audf.gif (16381 bytes)
Association of Ulster Drama Festivals
audf.gif (16381 bytes)
The Association of Ulster Drama Festivals (AUDF) is made up of three representatives from each member Festival - Ballymoney, Bangor, City of Derry, Enniskillen, Larne, Mid-Ulster (Carrickmore),   Newry, Newtownabbey, Portadown, and Strabane.

Apart from agreeing matters of general policy (although member Festivals are encouraged to develop their own unique "personalities"), a leading role of the Association is to organise this annual Ulster Drama Festival which brings together winners from provincial festivals and companies from both North and South of Ireland in friendly rivalry.

After a number of year at the Grand Opera House, Bangor's Little Theatre (now closed), and Ballymena County Hall, and the Lyric Theatre Belfast, we are delighted  to be made welcome at Theatre At The Mill Newtownabbey. AUDF also organises the NI One Act play Festival.

The AUDF Constitution, drawn up in 1949, includes the following aims: "to foster and encourage amateur drama through the holding of Festivals of Drama, the fostering of relations and co-operation between Ulster Drama Festivals, and the fostering of relations with similar organisations in Northern Ireland and other regions…" The Association owes much to the guidance of such great Presidents as Angela, late Countess of Antrim, the inimitable Brum Henderson, and the late Rowel Friers. This year it is our pleasure to welcome Rosemary Kelly as the Association's latest President, continuing a fine tradition.With Chairmen of the calibre of James Henry Cathcart, John M Knipe, Billy Burns, Paddy Ormonde, Sean Hollywood, Beth Duffin  Walker Ewart, Alan Marshall  and now Mac Pollock the Association is still satisfying the aims of our founder members after 50 years.

Mac Pollock  Chairman